About Eyes on the Sky

Dave Fuller is the guy with his "Eyes on the Sky". AWB pairs up with him to bring you some great videos to help you find celestial objects in the sky. His website is full of interesting information from how to start using your new telescope to finding your way around the night sky. 

 

Week of March 7, 2016 

Jupiter reaches opposition March 8, meaning the next week or two are the best time to see the planet at its largest diameter from our perspective. But, being the largest planet, it will remain quite large for several months, so if you have cloudy skies, there's still plenty of time to see it. Check out the video above for tips on observing our solar system's largest planet.

Dual shadow transit dates/times:

March 15 @ 02:22 UT (10:22pm EDT March 14)
March 15 @ 20:50 UT
March 22 @ 04:23 UT (00:23am EDT March 22)
March 23 @ 23:47 UT (19:47pm EDT March 23)
April 1 @ 20:18 UT
April 8 @ 22:55 UT (18:55pm EDT April 8 - may be too early to see even on East Coast of U.S.)

 

Week of February 1, 2016

Auriga has a distinctive, if unremarkable shape. But it is punctuated by the bright star Capella, making the constellation easy to find and discern in the sky. Within the confines of the well-known shape are several open clusters. But they are just far enough away from bright stars that it takes a little bit of a star hop to reach them. This video shows how to find Messier 38 and NGC 1907 from the Cheshire Cat asterism in Auriga.

 

Week of February 1, 2016

From January 27 until February 10 or so, five naked-eye visible planets will be easily visible in the morning sky. Venus and Jupiter are the brightest and easiest to locate. But Saturn and Mars are similar in brightness to two stars along the ecliptic - the imaginary line in the sky near where the planets travel from our perspective.

To top that off, Mercury isn't easy to see, even when it's best-placed. So the timing of when, where and what date to look is important. Check out the video above for all the details for spotting all 5 planets in the coming weeks.

 

Week of January 11, 2016

Taurus is one of those distinctive constellations that actually looks like what it represents. But the form of the constellation contains some really fascinating astronomy objects - first and foremost, the Hyades open star cluster. It is punctuated by the foreground star Aldebaran, but the Hyades is much more than the seeming "V" shape of Aldebaran and four Hyades stars. Learn about this object, and how to find the smaller, dimmer and farther away open cluster NGC1647 nearby.

 

Week of January 4, 2016

This week Dave features Messier 42, the Great Orion Nebula. It's big, it's bright, for many, it's even colorful! But within a degree of this fantastic object, there are a half a dozen other objects that, if they weren't so close to M42, would be great targets to observe on their own. They just get overshadowed by the large nebula's awesomeness.

Post a Member Report about this Program

To receive continued support for AWB, we need to document the success of our programs. Posting a member report demonstrates your enthusiasm for the astronomy community and enables you to share your activities with new friends around the world.